Parochial Church Council

The PCC (Parochial Church Council) is there to oversee the running of the church and to make decisions that affect the life of the church. It meets ten times a year.  The PCC comprises up to 12  members elected at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) for a 3-year term, together with any additional members later co-opted by the PCC , a Treasurer and Secretary, any clergy who wish to attend, and the Priest in Charge.  The Deanery Synod members (who are  elected at the APCM)  and the churchwardens also become members of the PCC.

St Mary’s PCC is currently (2021-2022) comprised of:-
Chairman – Churchwarden David Pickavance
Churchwardens – David Pickavance & Vasanthi Mowat
Deanery Synod representative – Ian Carter
Treasurer – Peter Mount
Elected members – Ian Carter (PCC secretary, planned giving officer & Deanery Synod rep), Marilyn Rolin (pastoral care co-ordinator), Carole Coram, Sammy Riley (safeguarding officer), David Riley, Kate Merrell, Michelle Jazrawi and Anne Carter.
There are currently vacancies for a second Deanery Synod representative and 4 further PCC members.

The PCC generally meets at 7.30pm on the third Wednesday of each month in the Vicarage (or via Zoom if necessary).  Sometimes we need to change the date to avoid clashing with other meetings.

The PCC doesn’t usually meet in August or December.

The last set of approved PCC minutes are available on the church notice board and on this website under official information and a summary of each meeting is published in the monthly newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s